BTTS Vol. 8 (aka, Sometimes I Need the Validation)

Often times I will post dialogue of the ridiculous interactions I have with students on Facebook or Twitter. Most often it’s to share a humourous situation. Sometimes though, it’s because I need the validation of yes, Natalie, this is an absurd situation.

I’ve said it before that kids say insane things and I’ll likely say it again.  Here’s a recent interaction I had that honestly left me speechless:

IMG_20160619_203702

Like seriously? Is that where we’re at right now with how students think they can talk to teachers/any person of authority?

I got my validation a week later when, in the staff-room talking on the phone with my husband, another teacher passed me this note:

IMG_20160620_074612423

I laughed so hard I dropped the call (well, maybe that was more Telus’ fault than mine…)

So thank you–Facebook friends, my husband, other teachers, Instagram and Twitter followers, dear readers, my mom–for reminding me that I’m not going crazy, that I’m not living in an alternate universe where it’s okay to treat persons of authority like crap, that it is very, very weird to ask your teacher if her husband is frisky.

 


 

Want to keep up to date with #NotMyClassroomBlog?

  • For a Monday only reminder, click on the follow buttons to get an email whenever new posts get published,
  • For a different Monday old reminder, you can follow me on Twitter,
  • For reminders on Mon/Wed/Fri, you can follow me on Instagram to get reminders of weekly posts, along with some “bonus footage” extras with each reminder,
  • For reminders on Tues/Thurs/Sat, you can like the Welcome To (Not) My Classroom Facebook page (same “bonus footage,” just a day later),
  • For sporadic reminders, you can follow the #NotMyClassroomBlog Posts board on Pinterest (same as the Instagram/Facebook page reminders, just whenever I remember to pin them).
Leave a Reply

