Steal All The Things

Another short and sweet post for y’all; I’m on a roll!

When subbing, you’re often left with stand-alone lessons that tie back to the larger unit the class is working on. The good teachers will make sure they’ve left you with a quality assignment for their students; work that actually counts and matters. There’s nothing like:
student: “Does this work count?” 
substitute teacher: “No”
student: *stops working for the rest of the period. So does everyone else. Except for those two kids who really care.*
to lose a class. That being said, when you come across the good assignments, you don’t want to get rid of them after only one use. So, steal. everything.

resized_all-the-things-meme-generator-steal-all-the-things-f13070
Will this meme ever stop finding awesome uses? #ShamlessSelfPromotion

I have four folders, one for each of my teachable subjects and one for stuff that isn’t Drama, English or Religion. They are stuffed with high quality worksheets, activities and assignments. I have found two great ways to use them.

  1. In my own classroom when I get contracts to teach the same subjects. Because I’m Drama-qualified, I was getting a lot of calls for Drama teachers when I was exclusively substitute teaching. The resources I nicked from those teachers were super helpful when I got my own English class and had to teach Shakespeare. I love Shakespeare, but all of my personal resources were from my university days and too advanced for the beginner-Shakespearer. My stolen resources not only gave me great stuff for my own students, but gave me ideas of where to look for more resources.
  2. In a class where I’m substituting and there isn’t enough work assigned to last the time the regular teacher is out. Sometimes students work faster than the regular teacher anticipated/planned for. Sometimes the regular teacher has to be out longer than they expected. Sometimes you’re stuck replacing a teacher who didn’t plan well enough. Whatever the reason, sometimes you’re tasked with finding more work for students. These quality stolen resources will be very useful in these times.

Just keep in mind:

  • Give credit where credit is due, especially when it’s clear the regular classroom teacher created the resource you’re swiping. Pilfer, but don’t plagiarise.
  • Don’t take a copy if it means there aren’t enough copies for students. Withdraw, but don’t withhold.
  • Don’t ask for a photocopy code just to copy one sheet. If the students are doing desk work, you have time to copy by hand. Remove, but don’t rifle.

Enough with the alliteration? Ok. Please just promise me that you won’t go overboard. Pinch, but don’t pillage (Ok, now I’m done).


Want to keep up to date with #NotMyClassroomBlog?

  • For a Monday only reminder, click on the follow button to get an email whenever new posts get published.
  • For reminders on Mon/Wed/Fri, you can follow me on Instagram to get reminders of our weekly posts, along with some “bonus footage” extras with each reminder.
  • For reminders on Tues/Thurs/Sat, you can like the Welcome To (Not) My Classroom Facebook page (same “bonus footage,” just a day later).
  • For inconsistent and sporadic reminders, you can follow #NotMyClassroomBlog on Pinterest, or specifically the #NotMyClassroomBlog Posts board (same “bonus footage” posted whenever I remember “Crap! I didn’t pin that yet!” I’m working to get better with my pins, I swear!
3 thoughts on “Steal All The Things

  1. I did a form of this with the many acting appointments I’ve had in the last couple of years. When I’ve seen administrative/information management systems that work really well in one office, I’d save a copy for myself. It’s come in really handy when I’ve been in new positions where I’ve been asked to create/implement some of these systems. I haven’t had to start from scratch! Recognize genius when you see it, and use it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s good advice for any work area, as so many people are doing many temp jobs before they find more permanent work. And when they do find that work, they’re expected to have more experience than is probably possible for them. Having a stockpile of excellent resources is a helpful way to have more experience than you actually do haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

