Verily, a Link Up

Never have I received so many “The post was so long!” as I did after last week’s BTTS. I’ll make it up to you by a short post this week.

If you’ve not heard of Verily Magazine, then you’re probably a boy. From their About Us section: “Verily is a women’s fashion and lifestyle website that’s “less of who you should be, more of who you are.” Our mission is to empower and inspire women to be the best versions of themselves.”
While they have never posted anything about substitute teaching specifically, they do post a lot about being a new person to the job world. I’ve linked up three that I think are very beneficial to substitute teachers:

  • 7 Ways to Survive and Thrive During Unemployment” by Maggie Niemiec: too often substitute teaching feels more like unemployment than regular employment. These tips are great to keep you from going crazy waiting for a sub call to come in.
    • On the note of filing for your employment insurance; you will likely only file come the summer break, but this is another good time to make sure you have been keeping track of the hours you worked. Last year, my record of employment was off by 500 hours. It was only recalculated when I could prove they were off by listing my record of hours.
  • How to Network When You Don’t Like Talking About Yourself” by Kristin Nunez: this article could easily be alternatively titled “Or If You’re a Teacher”. Teachers tend to be bad at talking themselves up; they’d rather their teaching skills speak for them. But, unless you’re in Australia where their interviews have a practical aspect to them, you’re going to have to get better at selling yourself. Whether in an interview, or just finding the opportunity to speak to a principal when you’re in to substitute, these tips are invaluable.
  • 3 Habits That Hurt Your Credibility at Work” by Krizia Liquido: more applicable if you are working a contract, but important nevertheless. You need to be showing characteristics that a principal would want to rehire, not ones that would make them regret their decision in hiring you.

And when you need a pick me up, read “The Five Lies Twentysomethings Need to Stop Believing” by Maria Walley. This is everything I want you to know if you’re struggling with getting hired into a school board. You’re not alone!

 

Want to keep up to date with #NotMyClassroomBlog?

  • For a Monday only reminder, click on the follow button to get an email whenever new posts get published.
  • For reminders on Mon/Wed/Fri, you can follow me on Instagram to get reminders of our weekly posts, along with some “bonus footage” extras with each reminder.
  • For reminders on Tues/Thurs/Sat, you can like the Welcome To (Not) My Classroom Facebook page (same “bonus footage,” just a day later).
  • For inconsistent and sporadic reminders, you can follow #NotMyClassroomBlog on Pinterest, or specifically the #NotMyClassroomBlog Posts board (same “bonus footage” posted whenever I remember “Crap! I didn’t pin that yet!” I’m working to get better with my pins, I swear!)
2 thoughts on “Verily, a Link Up

    1. You’re too kind ☺️
      I have a list on my iPad notes app where I write down any possible blog ideas I come up with, so come Monday I have a starting place. I also leave the app open all the time, so I have a constant reminder to write/brainstorm.
      The best was when I wrote three posts on the same day and scheduled them to publish on consecutive Mondays. It left me free to focus on blog promotion (and my job hahaha).

      Like

Leave a Reply

