Your Teaching Portfolio

As I mentioned last week, I am outlining everything I carry in my teaching portfolio. I have concluded that your teaching portfolio serves three purposes: 1–it’s a good end-of-the-year assignment in teachers’ college, 2–it ensures you have a copy of your resume with you when a principal has lost the one they printed, 3–it looks professional to walk into an interview carrying something business looking.

Here are my suggestions of what to put in your teaching portfolio:

  • a copy of your most up-to-date resume
  • pastoral references (for those working in/applying to faith-based boards/schools)
  • a copy of your most up-to-date certificates of qualification (for me, that’s a copy of my Ontario College of Teachers certificate, a copy of my Brevet d’enseignment from Quebec, and copies of my university/teachers’ college diplomas)
  • copies of all my letters of reference (mine are written by principals I’ve worked for, but could also be from different people you’ve volunteered for, as long as the experience is applicable to teaching)
  • copies of transcripts from university/teachers’ college and from additional qualification courses, and comments from teachers’ college practicum evaluations (a pain in the butt to scan and upload, but when you’re new to teaching, this is all you have to demonstrate your abilities. It’s worth the pain in the butt.
    When I first started teaching, I also had a copy of my high school transcript and diploma. Again, when you don’t have experience, you need to let your academics speak for your abilities.)
  • copies of in-class evaluations (done as a qualified teacher, not during your student days)
  • a copy of a police check/vulnerable sector screening
  • copies of certifications you received (things that don’t count as a teachable subject, but still look good on a resume, i.e: technology training, safety training, etc)
  • a copy of your up-to-date profile if you are registered for an online application service (like applytoeducation.com)
  • examples of lessons you have created and taught in various subjects (mine include Grade 12 Religion, Grades 9 and 11 English,and Grade 8 History. I could include more subjects, but have been slacking in keeping that section up-to-date)

I also have a bunch of job postings tucked in the front pocket of the binder I keep my portfolio in; I always bring a copy of the job posting I’m interviewing for, and use it to write down any questions I have for the interviewers.

Did I miss anything that I should add to my portfolio ASAP? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Your Teaching Portfolio

  1. Will you, at some point, be including a blog (or portfolio ideas) for teachers fresh out of school? Some of them don’t have the evaluations post-school/post-student-teaching yet!

    These ideas also ring true for other professions – at least, they work for the social work profession, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anni,
      That’s why I mentioned including high school diplomas and transcripts, and practicum evaluations from teachers’ college (those written by supervisors and associate teachers). You’re so right; when you’re first starting out, all you have to speak for you is your academic background. You need to highlight it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

